6TH IBAK Interschool Tournament 2017

Sunday, December 17, 2017

The Indian Badminton Association – Kuwait ; IBAK conducted the Annual Interschool Badminton Tournament on 8th December,2017 which attracted over 200 badminton players from nine premier schools of Kuwait. The Indian Badminton Association has been holding the inter-school competition for the last 6 years successfully and this is in line with its vision of INSPIRE, TRAIN, ACHIEVE.

All of the schools participated in the tourney with great enthusiasm and spirit. The schools that took part were schools were Bhavans School Abbasiya, DPS – FAIPS Ahmadi, Indian community school, Don Bosco, Carmel School, SIMS, GIS, ILOA, Indian central school. Many children were allowed to participate as “OPEN” category participants since there was no official representation from their respective schools.

DPS girls proved their supremacy with deft touches and powerful smashes across the court much to the surprise of their opponents. They grabbed U-14 singles, U-16 singles, U-19 singles. Bhavans Kuwait clinched the U-12 boys’ singles, U-14 boys’ singles and doubles titles.

The overall championship rolling trophy was presented to the proud DPS boys and girls in the presence of the guests and ardent followers of badminton in Kuwait. The runner-up was Bhavans and second runners up were Indian Central School.

The winners of U-19 doubles were Aidan Anesh Mathew and Allen Anesh Mathew who defeated Kiran M.U and Abhinay Shine in finals. U1-16 doubles champions were Sayooj Ajaykumar and Dharshan Ramesh who thrashed Gavril George and Tarun Velicheti in finals. Meanwhile, girls were battling for the supremacy where Niyati Pradeep and Hanah Binu defeated Niveditha Naredranath and Mona Tamer in U-19 Girls doubles. In U-14 girls doubles, Vali Gengadharan and Srisha Nagapadma crowned the champions by defeating Amrita Anaikumar and Hisana Batharu.

Kids showed their real talents and skills in singles of different age groups. Dhruva Bharadwaj maintained his position at the top in Boys U-12 and U-14 singles. Sayooj Ajaykumar remained unbeatable champion in Boys U-16 singles. Chris Sijo, Amrita Anaikumar, Valli Gangadharan, Niyati Pradee, Hanah Binu were the singles campions in Boys U-19 singles, Girls U-12 Singles, Girls U-14 Singles, Girls U-16 Singles, Girls U-19 Singles respectively.

IBAK thanks its untiring committee members who worked hard to mark the completion of yet another successful tournament. As has become the habit in recent times, the efforts were appreciated by the crowd, players and school management. The chief guest of the day was the Principal of Indian Community School (junior branch), Mrs.Sherly Dennis. IBAK committee thanked her for the commitment and unstinting support that has helped the conduct of a successful event.
Boys U_12 Singles

1Dhruva Bharadwaj
2Ajay Abhilash Mathew
3Shrihari Gengadaran
4Crispin Daniel Rajan

Boys U_14 Singles

1Dhruva Bharadwaj
2Aidan Anesh Mathew
3Samuel Sunil Philip
Karthik Kumar

Boys U_16 Singles

1Sayooj Ajayakumar
2Sarvesh Rajkumar
3Dharshan Ramesh
4Chris Sijo

Boys U_19 Singles

1Chris Sijo
2Sarvesh Rajkumar
3Ashuthosh Kulkarni
4Varun Sriram

Girls U_12 Singles

1Amrita Anaikumar
2Neha Biju Susan
3Aadhiya Shine
4Naesha Mehta

Girls U_14 Singles

1Valli Gengadaran
2Srisha Nagapadma
3Fiona Cabral
4Tessa Pandiyan

Girls U_16 Singles

1Niyati Pradeep
2Aditi Prabhu
3Anjali Alex
4Namitha Sara Biju

Girls U_19 Singles

1Hanah Binu
2Tessa Pandiyan
3Niveditha Naredranath
4Rumana Irfan

Boys U_14 Doubles

1Karthik Kumar
Varun Sriram
2Surya Manoj
Samuel Sunil Philip
3Ajay Abhilash Mathew
Thiyaneshwar Thamarai Selvan
4Ashwin Jaishanker
Jay Mayank Shah

Boys U_16 Doubles

1Sayooj Ajayakumar
Dharshan Ramesh
2Gavril George
Tarun Velicheti
3Alister Ethan Coelho
Thiyaneshwar Thamarai Selvan
4Adwaith A.S
Ammar Zamin

Boys U_19 Doubles

1Aidan Anesh Mathew
Allen Anesh Mathew
2Kiran M.U
Abhinav Shine
3Pravesh Gupta
Sriram Prakash
4Hrishikesh Dhanasekaran
Joel Sabu

Girls U_14 Doubles

1Valli Gengadaran
Srisha Nagapadma
2Amrita Anaikumar
Hisana Batharu
3Nandhana Iloa
Sucheta Raut
4Jelxy Alex
Mona Tamer

Girls U_19 Doubles

1Hanah Binu
Niyati Pradeep
2Niveditha Naredranath
Mona Tamer
3Annmary Sara Abhilash
Leela Jayne Ramos Palado
4Anjali Alex
Rumana Irfan

Express your comment on this article

Submit your comments...
Disclaimer: The views expressed here are strictly personal and IndiansinKuwait.com does not hold any responsibility on them. We shall endeavour to upload/publish as many of the comments that are submitted as possible within a reasonable span of time, but we do not guarantee that all comments that are submitted will be uploaded/published. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten other members; have obscene, unlawful, defamatory, libellous, hateful, or otherwise objectionable content; or have spam, commercial or advertising content or links are liable to be removed by the editors. We also reserve the right to edit the comments that do get published. Please do not post any private information unless you want it to be available publicly.

Community News

The first annual meet of The Indian Physical Therapists Forum Kuwait- Kerala Chapter was conducted at the Kuwait Medical As...

Ace comedian Sunil Grover who plays the popular character of Dr. Gulati and Rinku bhabhi will be in Kuwait for a gig as Dr. ...

The seminar organized by the Global Kerala Pravasi Association (Kuwait) at Mangaf Indraprastham Auditorium has taken a usefu...

“Kala (Art) Kuwait” delegates visited the Indian Embassy and met H.E. Mr. Jeeva Sagar, the Ambassador of India, to Kuwait....

KLTM organized an Open House for people who don't know about Toastmasters at Ibis Hotel, Salmiya. Around 50 people attended ...